Teen Book Review: The Future of Us

Standard

I thought that Jay Asher & Carolyn Mackler had a very good idea for their new book, A Future of Us.  The book is set in 1996.  Emma has just gotten her first computer and she puts a free America Online disk into her computer with her best friend Josh watching.  When they load it, they find themselves on Facebook from 2011.  The book is about how their relationship changes as they look at their futures. 

I think many people will like this book, but after reading it, there was something missing for me.  The beginning and middle had a slow pace and there wasn’t anything else in the plot to capture my attention.  I was expecting a sci-fi novel, but it was closer to realistic fiction.  The ending was expected and even though there was an element of science fiction, the book was basically a story about a boy and a girl who like each other and are too shy to admit it.  But like I said, I expect many people will like this.

-Rebecca, 8th grade

To hear a discussion of A Future of Us and several other recent teen books by our Teen Library Council, check out this audio.

Leave a comment