Of Scars and Stardust, by Andrea Hannah

Standard

imageFast Facts:

  • Genre: Realistic Fiction/Fantasy/Mystery
  • Recommended For: Fans of Mystery or Fantasy
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Intrigued by mystery? Love realistic fiction with a fantasy twist? Of Scars and Stardust, by Andrea Hannah is a great read for you. It all begins in the small, quiet town of Amble, Ohio. Claire Graham, the police chief’s daughter, is used to a quiet life, regardless of her father’s reputation. He allegedly messed up the biggest missing persons case the town has ever seen, when eight year old Sarah Dunnard went missing a month before. One night, Claire finds her younger sister, Ella, in the corn patch, her face covered in cuts and blood. She starts ranting about the “wolves” that got her sister and Sarah. Claire is sent to Manhattan to stay with her aunt and recover from the accident. Two years later, she is struggling to form a new life when all she can think of is Ella. In every bird, on every corner, in every sound she hears, all Claire knows is the pain her sister is going through, and how it was all her fault that Ella was alone in the cornfield that night. The only good thing she has to hold on to is the fact that Ella is still alive, even after her attack. When her aunt received a call from her mother saying that Ella has gone missing, Claire spirals out of control. Now, the wolves are everywhere. Paw prints on the side walk. Glowing eyes in the book store. Claire flees from Manhattan back to Amble in search of her sister. Embarking on a thrilling quest to find her, Claire quickly learns just how many secrets are buried under that quaint, small town façade.

Check This Book Out At WCCLS

Advertisements

Teen Book Review: The Innocents

Standard

innocentsThe Innocents by Lili Peloquin tells the story of two sisters; the more mature, shy and responsible Alice and the outgoing younger sister Charlie.  Their parents are divorced and their mom has just remarried a handsome, wealthy man named Richard.  The girls are moving to Richard’s enormous, luxurious house for the summer and this is where the story starts.  Upon arriving, they attend a partyand meet Cybill, Tommy and Jude.  Throughout the story, Alcie and Charlie discover that everyone in this town has a secret – and all of these secrets seem to be linked to the mysterious Camilla, their stepfather’s dead daughter.  Even their family has a hidden secret waiting to be found out.

This is basically a perfect girly book, it takes place in the summer and has romance and suspense in it.  It is also the  first in a series.  The second book will come out in the summer.  As far as age goes, I’d say this book is for ages 12 and up.  It was very enjoyable for me to read and I’d recommend it as a fun book.

-Gayatri