Of Scars and Stardust, by Andrea Hannah

Standard

imageFast Facts:

  • Genre: Realistic Fiction/Fantasy/Mystery
  • Recommended For: Fans of Mystery or Fantasy
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Intrigued by mystery? Love realistic fiction with a fantasy twist? Of Scars and Stardust, by Andrea Hannah is a great read for you. It all begins in the small, quiet town of Amble, Ohio. Claire Graham, the police chief’s daughter, is used to a quiet life, regardless of her father’s reputation. He allegedly messed up the biggest missing persons case the town has ever seen, when eight year old Sarah Dunnard went missing a month before. One night, Claire finds her younger sister, Ella, in the corn patch, her face covered in cuts and blood. She starts ranting about the “wolves” that got her sister and Sarah. Claire is sent to Manhattan to stay with her aunt and recover from the accident. Two years later, she is struggling to form a new life when all she can think of is Ella. In every bird, on every corner, in every sound she hears, all Claire knows is the pain her sister is going through, and how it was all her fault that Ella was alone in the cornfield that night. The only good thing she has to hold on to is the fact that Ella is still alive, even after her attack. When her aunt received a call from her mother saying that Ella has gone missing, Claire spirals out of control. Now, the wolves are everywhere. Paw prints on the side walk. Glowing eyes in the book store. Claire flees from Manhattan back to Amble in search of her sister. Embarking on a thrilling quest to find her, Claire quickly learns just how many secrets are buried under that quaint, small town façade.

Check This Book Out At WCCLS

Advertisements

The Shock of the Fall, by Nathan Filer

Standard

imageFast Facts:

  • Genre: Realistic Fiction
  • Recommended For: Advanced Readers/ Fans of The Underneath
  • Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

The Shock of the Fall is about a man remembering his nine year old self. Throughout the course of the novel, he gradually relives the tragic death of his autistic older brother through his poetic writing. This was a shocking and original book, and reminded me of The Underneath by Kathi Appelt. It was somewhat poetic without using a standard “poem” format. I would say this book is meant for more advanced readers than myself, but it was still very powerful for me.

Check This Book Out At WCCLS

Fan Art, by Sarah Tregay

Standard

image

Fan Art by Sarah Tregay was a very enjoyable book to read, with realistic teenage characters, especially those struggling with their identities and accepting themselves. Jamie, the main character, has a crush on his best friend of many years, Mason, and is unsure if his feelings will be reciprocated. He makes friends with a fellow art class student, Eden, and together they make their way their way through high school and prom. All the while trying to get another student’s comic, which features two gay characters, into “Gumshoe” which is the school’s magazine.

It is very good to see LGBT representation, especially in Young Adult novels. Fan Art was a fantastic book for this, with four main characters who respectively identify as gay and lesbian. To be honest, I was slightly disappointed that one character [spoiler alert!] was not bisexual, because they had romantic interactions with characters of different genders. Having LGBT characters in novels is fantastic, but usually they focus around gay and lesbian characters, while bisexual and transgender character are featured less.

All in all, Fan Art was a fun book, with both tension and humor in turn. I would rate it a four out of five stars.

Check This Book Out At WCCLS.  At: https://catalog.wccls.org/Mobile/Search/Title/1.5.1.2117677

Recent realistic & historical teen fiction at the Cedar Mill Library

Standard

Take a look at these recent arrivals in the YA section that may have slipped under the radar.  These books focus on realism or historical fiction.

Now is the Time for Running by Michael Williams
Deo and his disabled brother escape  attacking soldiers in Zimbabwe with not much more than a soccer ball.  But it’s what’s in the soccer ball that sets them apart.

Dreams of Significant Girls by Cristina Garcia
Three very different girls from multicultural backgrounds attend summer school in Switzerland in the 70s.

Bestest Ramadan Ever by Medeia Sharif
15 year old Almira struggles with her strict upbringing and her desire to be a “normal” teenage girl in America.

Cleopatra’s Moon by Vicky Shecter
Cleopatra Selene is the only living daughter of Marc Antony and Cleopatra.  She recalls her tumultuous life in this historical fiction work.

Stupid Fast by Geoff Herbach
Felton develops a new outlook on high school life after a giant growth spurt allows him to become a powerful athlete instead of a scrawny, picked on loser.

The Rites and Wrongs of Janice Wills by Joanna Pearson
Janice endeavors to apply her budding Anthropology skills to use as she analyzes high school life in North Carolina.

Sign Language by Amy Ackley
Teenaged life is hard enough, but when Abby’s Dad is diagnosed with cancer, things get even more difficult.

Shut Out by Kody Keplinger
Lissa and the other athlete’s girlfriends develop a plan to deal with the increasing rivalry between the football and soccer teams.

You Have Seven Messages by Stewart Lewis
Lisa tries to make sense of her mother’s death and the seven unheard messages from her on her missing cell phone.

Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick by Joe Schreiber
Perri gets more than he bargained for when his parents force him to take their Lithuanian exchange student, Gobi, to prom.  Much more!