Of Scars and Stardust, by Andrea Hannah

Standard

imageFast Facts:

  • Genre: Realistic Fiction/Fantasy/Mystery
  • Recommended For: Fans of Mystery or Fantasy
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Intrigued by mystery? Love realistic fiction with a fantasy twist? Of Scars and Stardust, by Andrea Hannah is a great read for you. It all begins in the small, quiet town of Amble, Ohio. Claire Graham, the police chief’s daughter, is used to a quiet life, regardless of her father’s reputation. He allegedly messed up the biggest missing persons case the town has ever seen, when eight year old Sarah Dunnard went missing a month before. One night, Claire finds her younger sister, Ella, in the corn patch, her face covered in cuts and blood. She starts ranting about the “wolves” that got her sister and Sarah. Claire is sent to Manhattan to stay with her aunt and recover from the accident. Two years later, she is struggling to form a new life when all she can think of is Ella. In every bird, on every corner, in every sound she hears, all Claire knows is the pain her sister is going through, and how it was all her fault that Ella was alone in the cornfield that night. The only good thing she has to hold on to is the fact that Ella is still alive, even after her attack. When her aunt received a call from her mother saying that Ella has gone missing, Claire spirals out of control. Now, the wolves are everywhere. Paw prints on the side walk. Glowing eyes in the book store. Claire flees from Manhattan back to Amble in search of her sister. Embarking on a thrilling quest to find her, Claire quickly learns just how many secrets are buried under that quaint, small town façade.

Check This Book Out At WCCLS

Balance Keepers: The Fires of Calderon, by Lindsay Cummings

Standard

imageFast Facts:

  • Genre: Fantasy/Adventure
  • Recommended For: Ages 9-13
  • Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Balance Keepers: The Fires of Calderon, is a magical novel that will remind readers of works such as Percy Jackson and Harry Potter. Yet another world of fantasy is revealed, but rather than a summer camp or a European castle, this one is located in the center of the Earth. Albert Flynn, age 11, is stuck in the backwater town of Herman, Wyoming for the summer, and has little to do except sort old mail at the post office and eat TV dinners with his dad, who is rarely home during the day. However, one encounter in the woods brings him to the Core, where his father, among hundreds of other people, works tirelessly to keep the world in balance and prevent its destruction. Albert trains to be a balance keeper, and goes on a wild adventure unlike any he’s ever had before. This series shows promise as a fantasy adventure, and will leave readers amazed with its vivid imagery and fascinating worlds just waiting to be discovered.

Check This Book Out At WCCLS

The Door in the Mountain, by Caitlin Sweet

Standard

imageFast Facts:

  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Recommended For: People Who Like Suspense
  • Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Caitlin Sweet’s The Door in the Mountain is based on the greek mythological character, Ariadne, and her slave girl Chara. Ariadne is the daughter of Minos, and her brother Asterion is the Minotaur, a famous bull-boy hybrid. He steals attention from her, as he is considered to be a sign from the gods. Angered by this, Ariadne schemes with her father to trap him forever, but Chara, who is a friend of Asterion, has a plan that will not allow that to happen. This book was interesting, as I never expectd what was going to occur next. However, in my opinion there wasn’t a true climax, and some of her ideas were a little confusing at first. Overall, I would rate it about 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Check This Book Out At WCCLS

Teen Review: Dragonswood

Standard

Dragonswood is the story of a teenage girl named Tess.  Her world is in near chaos after the death of their king, and everything she knows is about to change.  A bloodthirsty witch hunter with concealed intentions accuses Tess of witchcraft, and she is forced to flee her village, the only place she has ever known.  She must  journey into the wilderness of Wilde Island, a place most people are terrified of.  Little does she know, an ancienct prophecy is about to be fulfilled in a way no one could have predicted.  Dragonswood is an exciting tale for any and all lovers of fantasy.

Lucy, middle school